Over the last decade or so, ridesharing apps like Uber and Lyft have taken New Mexico and the world by storm. Today, the ridesharing market is a worldwide industry that exceeds $75 billion in value. Sadly, when the rideshare industry booms, so do rideshare accidents.
If you have been in an accident while in an Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare service vehicle, you may know how confusing it can be to figure out what your rights are and what parties could be held liable for your damages.
Possible Liable Parties in a New Mexico Uber, Lyft, or Other Rideshare Accident
Any time you get into a ridesharing vehicle, you are entrusting your safety with a complete stranger. If said stranger fails to keep you safe, they could be held liable for your injuries. Determination of liability is on a case-by-case basis since every accident is unique. However, liability could fall on any of the following parties:
- The driver
- The ridesharing company
- Other drivers
- Other third parties
- Other passengers
As with almost any corporation, ridesharing services such as Uber and Lyft do their best to maximize their profits by minimizing their responsibility. A few tactics they use to minimize their accountability for the harm their services cause are:
Arbitration is a means of settling a dispute outside of the court system, often depriving consumers of their right to a trial by jury. With forced arbitration, consumers are required to submit their disputes to binding arbitration as a condition of using their service. For rideshare accidents, this usually means forcing an injured passenger to go before a panel of arbitrators hand-picked by the rideshare service to plead their case. However, forced arbitration can only be used by the party using the app–meaning pedestrians and other drivers are not bound by forced arbitration. They are free to sue the ridesharing service.
Independently Contracted Drivers
A common tactic for many companies to minimize their liability is to label their employees as independent contractors. Nevertheless, companies, including ridesharing apps, are usually found to be responsible for the actions of anyone engaging in activities to benefit the company under their direction.
New Mexico Minimum Liability Insurance Policy Limits
Uber and Lyft require drivers to have insurance policies set in place before they can begin picking up riders. However, in New Mexico, the minimum limits for liability in New Mexico are just $25,000. This amount could never cover the expenses a victim would accumulate in the event of a severe accident. Medical bills, lost wages, and reduced earning capacity damages can add up quickly. Your best bet is to partner with a personal injury attorney with experience in handling rideshare accidents to learn more about your options for financial recovery.
Team Up with an Albuquerque Personal Injury Attorney for Your Rideshare Accident
At Dominguez Law, we are known for our complete focus on litigating cases. Our experienced personal injury attorneys tirelessly fight for the rights and maximum compensation of rideshare victims all over New Mexico. If you have been in an accident while riding in a Lyft or Uber vehicle, we will hold the liable parties responsible for what they owe you.
Attorney Paul M. Dominguez prides himself on resolving cases without charging frivolous legal costs because he believes his clients deserve the highest quality service without the outrageous fees. To schedule a free consultation, give us a call at (505) 317-9837 or complete our contact form.